When we got the offer from Lumias mother to take over her two-hectare premises in the countryside of Finland we jumped for joy. For us living in the countryside in a house with a big garden was a big dream - after years and years of city dwelling we had grown to realize we want to live in nature, with nature, and this was our chance.

After one and a half years of learning, planning and jumping for joy we packed our bags in Germany and moved into our new home in May 2016. Join us on our journey in making the premises our dream come true - a Nordic permaculture paradise!

Disclaimer: to fund Beyond Buckthorns we use some affiliate links on this site, which means we get paid a bit if you buy books, tools etc. using the some of links we share here. If you are planning on getting something we present here, feel free to use those and support us in that way!

Living in nature with nature from nature

Meet the team

Lumia

Lumia

Hi, I'm Lumia! That's snow in Finnish if you were wondering. I'm a Finn as you may have guessed, and after over ten years abroad in Europe I have finally returned to my home country (to my home town!) to the nature I I have sorely missed.

I have a degree in Marketing and SME Management, but most of my work career I worked in IT project management and controlling. My plan now is to garden, to work on building a practical homestead and to help create a natural haven for people, plants and animals on our premises. Pretty soon I'll be getting back to marketing work too, but first I want to try out everything I learned from books in my garden! I love to read, play theater, blog, ride my bike and to watch the bees in the plants.

Nick

Dominik

My name is Dominik, which for Finland is quite an uncommon name you might think. So, I’m originally from Germany and because my godmother’s friends were from Le Havre I got the Germanized version of the French name Dominique.

What will you do with such a name? Being a brew master (Diploma from the Technical University Berlin) never fitted me very well, besides I can’t lift heavy stuff anymore. I've been into art and design since I was 10 years old. I got my first camera with 7. What else would I become other than an artist and (web)-designer and photographer

Since 2012 I've been involved in the development of DIY small scale biogas. Till mid 2019 I was also part of the Blueprint Network, an alliance of organizations and individuals collaborating on integrated design solutions for regenerative human settlements. 

I grab whatever I can on the net about Permaculture and love to finally be able to work on my own permaculture project. Since 2020 I'm the president of the Finnish Permaculture Association.

I'm within the communications working group of the European Permaculture Network. 

The site

The whole site is 3h in total. It is designed using an overarching design holding together several designs in order to make it digestible. The map below shows the so far implemented designs. Over time more and more will be published.

Building the poop palace - an integrated composting area

Building a DIY weather station

Designing a food forest for Zone 1

Eutopia borealis

Introducing the Jean-Luc

Insulating a rintamamiestalo with hemp

The Biogas Shed

How We Chose Our Photovoltaic System

Design by Zones

We use zones as design process. It is so far the best process for an overarching land based design if the sub-designs are complicated. Usually we work our way outwards. Sometimes it doesn't work because some of the designs which for example are in zone 3 need a lot of planning and come with trees and bushes, which need years to grow. At Beyond Buckthorns we have all zones. Additionally to our standard zone 1 - the house - we have two additional zone 1, which are in use in specific niches in time and therefore are on a pattern level. The design is made in a way and flexible enough to hold pattern level zoning. 

-

72 hours Permaculture Design Course over 12 days.

-

Learn about DIY Biogas in the Nordic climate at Beyondbuckthorns in rural Pälkäne / Laitikkala.